• inner-page-banner

Ncc in Delhi

Home/ About Us/ NCC in Delhi

Brief History

The National Cadet Corps was raised in January 1950 and  was located at Delhi Cantt. To start with, it was named as Headquarters 7 Circle Cadet Corps and constituted the States of Rajasthan, Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh and Union Territory of Delhi. In 1962, the Directorate was shifted to the Red Fort and was rechristened as NCC Directorate Delhi. Initially, this Directorate had 4 Group Headquarters and 26 NCC Units under its command. In July 1963, one Group HQ and 6 Units of the State of Himachal Pradesh were placed under the command of NCC Directorate Punjab. In 1977, Group HQ 'A' of this Directorate was disbanded. The Directorate now has two Group Headquarters with nine units each. 

Organisation of State Level

Delhi Directorate is headed by a Deputy Director General, an Army Officer of the rank of Brigadier, who is responsible for National Cadet Corps activities in Delhi. The second in command is the Director, NCC Delhi, who is of the rank of Captain (Indian Navy). The Directorate also has two groups commanded by Colonels or equivalent, each having nine units. The Units are commanded by Lieutenant Colonel/Major or their equivalents. Besides this, four Dy. Directors of the rank of Lt. Col. and Major are posted at the Directorate. The Central Govt. has also Accounts Officer and one Administrative Officer(Civil) apart from other subordinate staff. The State Govt. has also provided on Administrative Officer of the rank of UTCS Cadre, one Senior Accounts Officer, one Superintendent and one Junior Accounts Officer apart from the other subordinate staff, which is posted in various Groups and Units.

NCC Directorate Delhi is located in the Old Sectt. Complex, Delhi.
NCC Gp. HQ Delhi 'B' was raised on 1 March 1965 at Patel Nagar in hired house. It shifted to its present location, i.e. Old Rajdhani College in Dec., 1976. Gp 'A' was merged with it subsequently, it has nine units under command, which are as under:-

  •  2-Delhi Bn. NCC ITI Pusa, New Delhi.
  •  5-Delhi Bn.NCC Kashmere Gate, Delhi.    
  •  6-Delhi Bn.NCC Kirti Nagar, New Delhi. 
  •  1-Delhi Girls Bn.NCC Kashmere Gate, Delhi.    
  •  2-Delhi Girls Bn.NCC Kashmere Gate, Delhi..    
  •  5-Delhi Girls Bn.NCC Kirti Nagar, New Delhi.
  •  7-Delhik Girls Bn.NCC Kirti Nagar, New Delhi.

NCC Gp. HQ Delhi 'C' was originally raised in 1965 and designated as NCC Gp. HQ Delhi 'D'. On re-organisation of the NCC in Delhi it was redesignated as NCC Gp HQ Delhi 'C'. It also has nine units under its command, which are as under:-

  •  3-Delhi Bn. NCC ITI, Arab-Ki-Sarai, New Delhi    
  •  4-Delhi Bn.NCC Okhla Industrial Area, New Delhi  
  •  7-Delhi Bn. NCC Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi.   
  •  2-Delhi Arty Bty NCC Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi.   
  •  2-Delhi Naval Unit,NCC Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi.    
  •  1-Delhi Air Sqn.NCC Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi.
  •  2-Delhi Girls Air Sqn.NCC Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi.
  •  3-Delhi Girls Bn.NCC Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi.   
  •  4-Delhi Girls Bn. NCC Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi.

NCC Coverage

The Delhi Directorate covers the entire state of Delhi including the rural areas. Presently it covers 56 Colleges of 4 Universities and 272 Schools. A total of 36430 Cadets are presently enrolled.
Following is the list of the Colleges covered by the NCC Delhi Directorate:-

  •  Satyawati Co-education College 
  •  Shyam Lal College  
  •  Ramjas College   
  •  Khalsa College   
  •  Bhim Rao Ambedkar College   
  •  Guru Teg Bahadur College    
  •  Shivaji College    
  •  Kirori Mal College   
  •  Hans Raj College 
  •  Swami Shradha Nand College    
  •  Rajdhani College   
  •  Daulat Ram College  
  •  Miranda House    
  •  Indraprastha College for women xv) Mata Sundri College  
  •  Kalindi College  
  •  Janki Devi Mahilla College   
  •  Bhartiya College   
  •  Shyama Prasad Mukherji College
  •  Laxmi Bai College   
  •  Dayal Singh College  
  •  Pannalal Girdharilal DAV College 
  •  ITI Arab Ki Sarai, Nizamuddin
  •  Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education & Sports Science 
  •  Moti Lal Nehru   
  •  Sri Aurobindo College 
  •  Govind Ballabh Pant College  
  •  Shaheed Bhagat Singh College
  •  Desh Bandhu College  
  •  ITI Malviya Nagar  
  •  Jamia Milia Islamia 
  •  Zakir Hussain College
  •  Delhi College of Arts and Commerce  
  •  Atma Ram S D College 
  •  Ram Lal Anand College   
  •  Jamia Hamdard University    
  •  Lal Bahadur Shahstri Sanskrit Vidyapeeth    
  •  IIT Hauz Khas  
  •  Maiteryi College    
  •  Jesus & Mary College    
  •  Lady Irwin College   
  •  Kamla Nehru College   
  •  Lady Sri Ram College    
  •  Gargi College    
  •  College of Vocational Studies   
  •  ITI Pusa    
  •  Satya College